82. Dagon (2001)

Date First Watched: 15/10/2011
Date Last Watched: 15/10/2011
# Viewings: 2

I really really loved this the first time I watched it. I love Stuart Gordon and didn’t really know what to expect from this, but I loved the setting and the atmosphere and the weirdness. I still enjoyed it this time, but I didn’t quite get that same wow factor.

I loved the rain/water and the blueishness of it and I still do. It’s an odd atmosphere that it creates that I haven’t really seen in any other film. The creatures of the town are weird and creepy too. Tentacled people are cool for some reason. I thought the main characters were a bit meh, though luckily most of them don’t have much screen time. I think Paul was ok because he was a good everyman, but he’s still not particularly great. The flashback scene with the old man kind of went on too long as well.

I didn’t really get any tension from it this time either. I remember being on the edge of my seat last time and this time I was just interested. Not really sure what gripped me so much last time that was missing this time. I still think it’s a solid film that looks super cool.

Leave a comment