38. eXistenZ (1999)

Date First Watched: Long time ago
Date Last Watched: 29/02/2012
# Viewings: 5+

Yet another childhood favourite of mine; this was my favourite film when I was like 8/9 or so.

One thing I never noticed before – but perhaps am only noticing now because we’ve just started learning lighting – is that the lighting is so good. The film looks beautiful, partly from the lighting and partly because of Cronenberg’s touch. His films always look good, and I like how they’re kind of gross but not really gross.

I’ve always loved the concept, but eXistenZ seems like the most boring game ever. Sometimes the tone also feels all over the place. The acting also is a bit iffy, and I don’t find the characters particularly interesting. I still love the film, but it lacks the spark of a 10/10.

One thought on “38. eXistenZ (1999)”

Leave a Reply

