59. Back to the Future (1985)

Date First Watched: Long time ago
Date Last Watched: 22/01/2006
# Viewings: 4+

It’s been 10 years and 2 days since I last watched this, so it’s been a long time… I was in the mood for something science fiction-y and so I settled on this and luckily it was what I was in the mood for. I watched BTTF II on October 21st last year for obvious reasons and though I still loved it, it wasn’t as good as I remembered. This one has held up much better.

I think the story is a lot stronger than the sequel. There’s a real sense of adventure and it feels fresh. The script is snappy and the film is well paced. There’s no real filler, so everything comes together at some point. It also manages to tackle a few ‘taboo’ ideas and gets away with them. I think this is partly due to the light-heartedness and genuine innocence that it has.

Fox and Lloyd are both really good in their roles. Marty is kind of a douchebag teen, but Fox has something likable about him that keeps him relatable and down to earth. Lloyd is just always great. The supporting cast is also good, the entire cast have really great chemistry with each other.

Surprisingly, none of the references seem dated. Maybe young people today might not get some stuff – I found myself going huh when his watch beeped and he tried to hide it; did watches not beep in the 80s? – for the most part the parallels between the 1980s and 1950s still feel current today. And actual references to things going on at the time (eg the president), are well-known enough to most people. There may be some more obscure references littered throughout, but if so not noticing them doesn’t take anything away.

Leave a Reply

