51. Ginger Snaps (2000)

Date First Watched: Long time ago
Date Last Watched: 7/04/2007
# Viewings: 4+

I think I was 11 when I first watched it and I loved it then and still love it now. I always found the angsty stuff a bit irritating and it still kind of bothers me. Luckily it’s only really an issue at the beginning.

People always whinge that the puberty metaphor isn’t subtle enough, but I don’t really think it’s meant to be. Nor does it really need to be. I hadn’t gone through puberty when I first watched it and I never really thought it was trying to make it difficult to decipher or be some deep and meaningful message. Although I must’ve gone through a different puberty because the only relatable aspect of the film are the cramps.

The acting is a bit all over the place. Katharine Isabelle is amazing and usually is. I can’t believe she was only 18/19 here. Perkins is up and down. She starts off awful and starts to get better later on. Isabelle is really the center of the film and really elevates it well beyond an average film. Other elements shine as well; I love the blending of horror and black comedy, and I love the practical effects too. The script is a bit wobbly as well, there are some super cheesy lines and it’s quite a bland script, so I think it’s good direction, good pacing and Isabelle that make it so strong.

Still a high favourite, though I don’t think it will ever be a perfect 10.

Leave a Reply

