28. Pulp Fiction (1994)

Date First Watched: Long time ago
Date Last Watched: 17/04/2008
# Viewings: 3+

I first saw Pulp Fiction when I was about 10 or so and I didn’t get it. I watched it a few years later and loved it, but always felt like something was off about it (despite giving it a 10/10 anyway). I didn’t watch Reservoir Dogs til much later and I always preferred it. Although I still need to rewatch Reservoir Dogs, I think this may overtake it as my favourite Tarantino film.

One thing that always pees me off is when people call Tarantino’s films violent. To me, he’s all dialogue and characters. What I’ve started to learn about what I like in films is that characters make or break a film for me. Every character in this film feels like a person. The acting is fantastic from everyone, but the script and character development is amazing as well. How fecking good is Samuel L Jackson? That opening scene is great.

It’s also a good looking film with great editing (RIP Menke). The music is fecking amazing. Although it felt jarring to me as a kid, the non-linear narrative is actually surprisingly smooth. I can’t imagine the film being told in any other way and if it had, then the character development might not have been as effective and the film could’ve fallen flat.

I know it’s the cool thing to hate on Tarantino these days, but I don’t care what y’all say. It’s a pretty goddamn amazing bit of cinema and I think it will be moving up my list.

Leave a comment