308. Dredd (2012)

Date First Watched: 2/08/2014
Date Last Watched: 2/08/2014
# Viewings: 2

I don’t remember what made me decide to watch it in the first place, I think I was in an action mood. I didn’t know anything about the film, I had fairly low expectations and I was blown away.

I still think it’s an amazing film, but that excitement that came from having no idea what to expect wasn’t there that time. Like, I didn’t realise it was going to be all in one location and be a super tense and confined thing, and that was part of what got me all excited. The look of the film is really cool, it gives it this kind of otherworldy comic book feel, but with a slight grounding in reality. The action scenes look great as well, and the editing keeps the pace up the entire film.

The characters are nothing particularly special, but the villain and hero/es are given enough to provide a foundation for us to follow. The main point of interest is the action and atmosphere and the tension, so having fairly ‘bland’ characters gives this more attention. There’s no dillydallying on developing backstories and character developments and it really isn’t needed at all. I was impressed with the treatment of Anderson though; she’s a strong female character who is never used for decorative purposes (which is super rare, so it needs to be said). She is never sexualised (making the sexual thoughts of Kay that much more ‘disturbing’ and out of place). And she’s useful and provides a purpose. She doesn’t have much to offer personality-wise, but surprisingly, her and Ma-Ma are the most well developed characters in the film.

Leave a Reply

