256. Spider-Man (2002)

Date First Watched: Long time ago
Date Last Watched: Long time ago
# Viewings: 3+

I have no idea when I first watched it or when I last watched it, but I always loved it. I’ve never read the comics. I’ve since seen the reboot which is terrible. This is so much better in every way. I don’t like the way all these reboots are trying to be dark and broody these days. Sometimes it works, but mostly it feels forced.

This feels more typical comic book-y. It balances the serious stuff with the comical stuff well. Aside from Defoe and Simmons, the acting isn’t the strongest, but they all fit their characters and are likable enough. Maguire is a good everyman and ‘nerdy outcast’. The fight scenes are well-shot, Defore is a fun villain. It’s super cheesy at times and some of that stuff is a bit off-putting.

Leave a Reply

