76. Mulholland Dr. (2001)

Date First Watched: 17/06/2007
Date Last Watched: 6/09/2007
# Viewings: 3

I didn’t know much about Lynch before watching this – I had seen a few of his films, but I didn’t really know what to expect. The Winkie’s scene almost killed me from fright. I felt the colour drain out of me and my legs were still shaking when the film finished. I still think it’s the scariest scene of all time.

Anywho, I don’t find the film as gripping and as exciting as I did last time. I still think it’s very good, but it just lacks that special something. I always hated Naomi Watts in the film because her character is annoying as hell. The characters are kind of lacking and the plot didn’t really interest me as much this time. I do think it looks wonderful though, I can’t fault any of Lynch’s films for aesthetics. That and the atmosphere are the biggest draws of the film and still let it work for me.

Leave a Reply

