43. Psycho (1960)

Date First Watched: 8/03/2005
Date Last Watched: 14/12/2011
# Viewings: 3

I first watched this during the early days of my IMDb Top 250 adventure and had little idea what to expect. I was surprised at how much I liked it, but I was more surprised at just how goddamn hot Anthony Perkins was. Norman Bates is still my #1 hottest dude in horror.

Anywho, he is overwhelmingly distracting because jesus christ, but the film is a solid thriller. I dislike calling it a horror film, but I begrudgingly will. I like Hitchcock, but I find him uneven. This is still my favourite Hitchcock film and definitely the film that best sums up his talents. It’s well-shot – it’s a beautiful looking film (and not just coz of the Perkins factor) and the use of shadow is amazing – well-paced and well-acted (mostly coz of Perkins), with an awesome score.

Anthony Perkins’ performance is one of my favourites – it’s unbelievably good and I can’t really imagine anyone else being Norman the way he is Norman. My favourite scene of the film is the stuttering scene, which was scene 15 on my DVD and back in 2005 I used to rewatch it pretty much every morning before school. It probably seems like an insignificant scene when compared to the more classic scenes of the film, but for me it just makes Norman’s character. And I find it ridiculously adorable as well.

This smile, just *faints*

Leave a Reply

