173. Saving Private Ryan (1998)

Date First Watched: Long time ago
Date Last Watched: Long time ago
# Viewings: 3+

I think I’ve only seen this once or twice and it’s been quite a while so I didn’t remember much. It used to bother me less, but these days I get quite agitated over melodrama and schmaltz. And this has a lot. I mean, it is Spielberg so you wouldn’t expect any less, but wow it’s annoying.

I’m not sure why I loved this so much in the first place. It’s not a bad film, but it’s not a great film. It’s above average for sure, but the cheese! So much cheese. There’s little character development, for the most part it functions like most modern war films and that is, like a slasher film. It’s a decent war film despite being safe and clean and overly patriotic. It’s slow at times and a bit overlong, but is mostly fairly entertaining. It’s no longer a favourite of mine, but it’s a decent watch.

Leave a Reply

