226. Fright Night (1985)

Date First Watched: 13/02/2010
Date Last Watched: 13/02/2010
# Viewings: 2

The first time I watched it, I liked it more and more afterwards than I did during. I’m not really sure why because it’s really fecking amazing. I also remember thinking Chris Sarandon was really unattractive until the ‘Good Man in a Bad Time’ scene and then just being like *melts*

So, I hadn’t realised it had been so long since I first and last watched it. I’ve been wanting to revisit it ever since. I remembered it being a lot cheesier than it is. But it’s actually a solid and well-made film. Campy, but not cheesy. The actors are all great, Evil Ed always confused me and still does though. Chris Sarandon’s performance is one of my favourites, although I kind of wish there’d been a little more ‘teasing’ before he went after Charlie.

It also looks great, super 80s. The soundtrack is great as well. Rock Myself To Sleep, Good Man in a Bad Time, Armies of the Night. I rarely hear Sparks in anything, fecking love Sparks. It’s super atmospheric, great sets, great visuals, great effects, great use of colour. I also like the gay undertones. Hardly subtle, but never takes away from anything else and is a nice extra layer.

It balances comedy and horror well. It’s not really a comedy film though; it’s funny, but never hilarious. And this is a good thing because it keeps it fairly grounded. As mentioned earlier, a tad more character development and tension at the beginning may have helped, but at the same time it could’ve made it drag.

Leave a Reply

