18. The Fly (1986)

Date First Watched: Long time ago
Date Last Watched: 9/08/2011
# Viewings: 5+

I didn’t feel like watching a comedy, so I skipped a few of the films next up to this one since it was more what I was in the mood for. In a complete coincidence, the last time I watched this was the same day I last rewatched An American Werewolf in London (which I also just watched rewatched). Also coincidental that they both involve a painful transformation of some kind and even end similarly.

This has been a long time favourite of mine, first watching it when I was a kid – I don’t remember how old. Anyway, I found this time that the build up was a bit cheesy and melodramatic (the music bothered me at times too). And the cut just after he discovers he’s Brundle Fly was like something you’d see on TV when they’d go to an ad which was really randomly cheap. Besides that, once the transformation starts it’s fecking awesome. The effects of the transformation are amazing. Jeff Goldblum is amazing. Geena Davis is almost amazing (she’s better in the latter half). And it’s surprisingly really damn emotional. The last time I watched it I ended up crying at the end which was the first time it’d ever made me cry, but I cried this time as well. It’s one of the saddest goddamn movies ever made.

null

Leave a Reply

