95. Sex, Lies, and Videotape (1989)

Date First Watched: 17/01/2007
Date Last Watched: 6/04/2007
# Viewings: 3

Last week I made a ‘Sexiest Films’ list and this topped it. And it’s topped it ever since I first watched it, because James Spader in this film is fecking perfection. Although I’d obviously been attracted to many guys prior to this, this was probably the most intense sexual attraction that I’d had towards anyone and I remember my mouth just hanging open for most of it because holy goddamn jesus. The fecking floofy hair omg.

Anyway, I’ve been both looking forward to and putting off watching James Spader this in glorious 1080p, and so it’s been almost 9 years since I’ve seen it. I was really surprised to see how much this film has shaped me since watching. In the first 30 minutes, I realised how often I’d unknowingly quoted Graham, and how much I agreed with what he was saying. I assume I subconsciously felt the same way the first times I watched it, but I think more-so that the film has actively affected the way I think and feel. Which I really was not expecting and found somewhat disturbing. I started crying twice during the film and then at the end and I have no idea why.

Aside from that, the film is just beautifully made. The acting is fantastic from everyone, the writing is amazing, the cinematography is amazing. All those close-ups and the tight, intimate framing does wonders at building up tension and getting you really emotionally involved. I did initially give it a 10, but I downrated it some years ago thinking that it was possibly just my attraction to James Spader that was making me feel that way, but I’m putting it back up to a 10 because it’s really a great film and a really bizarre experience. And also because James Spader is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

