187. The Wizard of Oz (1939)

Date First Watched: Long time ago
Date Last Watched: Long time ago
# Viewings: 3+

I haven’t seen this since around 2004/2005. I first saw it when I was quite young, presumably. I always liked it and although it’s not the first colour picture, I think it was a great way to introduce it to audiences of the day. It still looks beautiful today.

When I started watching it today, I was interrupted with the news Alan Rickman had died and then I had to stop it to watch the Oscar nominations (lame, as usual), both of which kind of soured my mood, so may have affected my viewing.

Although I still think it’s a great film, it’s quite simple and often drags. As mentioned, the use of colour is wonderful and really brings the entire world to life. Although clearly a set, it always feels lively and bright. Some of the songs and quotes are obviously staples these days and are still fun to hear (and if I ever mention ‘oil’ to my mum she ALWAYS does the ‘oil can’ thing). There’s nothing really amazing about any of them though. It’s a fun adventure/fantasy film that is obviously just meant to be a bright, colourful bit of escapism and it does that and does it well. It’s a classic film that I still love, just a bit less than I used to.

Leave a comment