36. Batoru rowaiaru (2000)

Date First Watched: 24/02/2007
Date Last Watched: 16/11/2007
# Viewings: 4

I was so in love with the plot of the film when I first watched it, I watched it quite a few times that year, read the book and based my NaNoWriMo on the same idea. I still love the concept, but not so much the film anymore.

When I was writing my NaNoWriMo, I realised how repetitive it was and I struggled to write anything interesting. And watching this I see the same problems. It doesn’t really go into the psychology of it, the acting is really bad and the characters aren’t interesting enough to make up for this. Some of the fighting/action scenes are nice, but they still feel lacking.

And film-wise it feels quite amateurish and dull. I still like it, but there’s just not a whole lot to it. It’s still miles better than the crappy watered down American rip-offs like The Hunger Games, but doesn’t really fill me with the same excitement that it once did.

Leave a comment