109. Species (1995)

Date First Watched: Long time ago
Date Last Watched: 2005-ish
# Viewings: 4+

I think I was about 6 when I first watched Species and it was my favourite film for a while. I was surprised that I hadn’t watched it for about 10 years – but I still remembered most of it.

It’s a cheesy film, but an entertaining one. I think Sil is an interesting and strong female lead, despite existing for reasons I’d normally dislike female leads. Although I’m not sure if it’s meant to be read into, the film could be interpreted as the progression of female sexuality and puberty. Although I don’t think it ties things up very well if this were the case (maternal instinct = crazy female/female sexuality must be stopped), the first half of the film doesn’t do too bad a job. Although the sequel has a dude one and it plays out much the same so maybe it’s just a comment on sexuality and evil aliens.

The supporting characters are a bit lame and stereotyped. The most interesting parts of the film are when Sil’s on-screen and luckily this is the majority of the film. Also, having watched The Matrix just before this one, both films had a similar line of dialogue alluding to humans being a disease and Sil/the agents being the cure. I seem to like that theme.

Leave a Reply

