129. Dude, Where’s My Car? (2000)

Date First Watched: Long time ago
Date Last Watched: 6/04/2007
# Viewings: 4+

I don’t think I’ll ever not like this movie, though I can’t say I love it quite as much as I used to. It’s been a favourite of mine since I was pretty young – maybe around 10? – and I still quote it fairly often (especially ‘dude, it’s a llama’) and even had a pet rat named Zoltan.

When I rewatch some of these nostalgic silly comedies, I realise that all the jokes that land are really funny, but the ones that don’t, really don’t. And it seems that when I was younger, I found it easier to ignore the bad ones and the not-so-funny stuff in between. Like the stoner dog thing, wtf is that? But I still do the Zoltan thing every time I hear it. I still quote ‘it will be AWESOME’. And that make out scene is just great. And there are a few other classic jokes in there. It’s silly and super childish but it has this genuine innocence that makes it likable, instead of just stupidly annoying.

I still think there’s lots of funny stuff, but a bit too silly for me now to really love it so much.

Leave a Reply

