120. The Sixth Sense (1999)

Date First Watched: 1999/2000
Date Last Watched: Long time ago
# Viewings: 4+

I watched this soon after it came on on VHS, so it was either late 1999 or early 2000. I would’ve been 8/9. I watched it with my family and as soon as Cole was like ‘all the time’, I knew instantly Bruce Willis was dead and I felt super cool afterwards because I was the only one out of us who had gotten it. These days obviously everyone already knows this, but I still feel special for getting it.

Anyway, I always loved the film but it was also one of the few films that used to scare me. Which makes me surprised that so many people don’t consider it a horror film. The bit where Cole goes to pee and the lady walks past fecking gives me chills every time. When I was a kid (and still now), not having to face away from the door when I pee was the only thing that I liked about being a girl. Just coz of that scene.

Swiftly moving on, it gets a lot of hate for a ‘twist’, but that’s a fecking stupid complaint because you’re basically complaining that you don’t like the story. The reveal is sound, it doesn’t feel randomly slapped on. When you rewatch it and know, you see all the little clues and knowing the ending never takes away from the rest of the film. It is still creepy. Osment is still amazing.

Now that my cheese radar is on 11, I can see the movie has a lot of flaws as well. Some of the dialogue is so bad. Toni Collette’s character is such a cliche and it does take itself too seriously at times. However, the good outweighs the bad. I think this is largely due to Osment’s performance and his chemistry with Willis.

Leave a Reply

