12. The Matrix (1999)

Date First Watched: 21/07/2002
Date Last Watched: 2/12/2011
# Viewings: 6+

I tried watching The Matrix when I was about 10 and turned it off after a few minutes because I didn’t get it (I think I stopped around the time Trinity jumps over the roof at the beginning). It was only a year later that I decided to give it another shot and I loved every second of it. I think it was probably the first ‘reality is not real’ story that I was subject to and I fell madly in love with the concept from then on. Whenever we’d get a new TV or sound system or whatever, dad would put on The Matrix, so I’ve seen it a whole lotta times over the years.

Still holds up. I don’t think the film will ever get old. I’ve never seen anything else like The Matrix and I don’t think anything will ever come close to it. The story is awesome, the action is awesome, the special effects are awesome (though the bit when Smith explodes has not aged well); the whole thing is awesome.

null

One thought on “12. The Matrix (1999)”

Leave a comment