148. Il buono, il brutto, il cattivo (1966)

Date First Watched: 2/04/2006
Date Last Watched: 2/04/2006
# Viewings: 2

A few days ago, one of my lecturers thought it would be a good idea to play the last 20 minutes in class, even though about 90% of the class had never seen the film. Despite my annoyance at this, it made me want to watch it again. As you can see, I watched it once about 9 years ago, so it was about time for a rewatch.

The first time I saw it, I rated it 10/10, but I eventually lowered this to a 9 after a few years. A 9 still feels about right. It doesn’t ever feel like a 3 hour film. Although some of those army scenes drag, generally it’s always keeping the tension up and it’s more entertaining and well-made than it should be. As someone who generally dislikes westerns, this still firmly remains my favourite western. It’s not as stilted and wooden as most westerns, it has a sense of humour, the main characters are all interesting, the music is great, the cinematography is great. The dubbing is goddamn awful, but that’s only a minor quibble. And how fecking good does this look on Bluray?

Leave a Reply

