23. House of 1000 Corpses (2003)

Date First Watched: 27/07/2004
Date Last Watched: 1/10/2011
# Viewings: 5+

Dad rented this out one day 11 years ago and I remember after the first scene dad was like ‘I love this movie’. I became slightly obsessed with it. The film was also part of the reason I started listening to ‘oldies’ music because I thought I Remember You was the coolest song ever.

Anyway, first time I watched it I thought Jerry was kind of hot, and then I watched all the special features and watched it again and fell madly in love with Otis. And then proceeded to watch it a lot. Despite seeing it a million times, I could watch it another million times and it would still be as awesome.

The characters are fecking amazing, the acting is amazing, the writing is amazing, the visuals are amazing, the soundtrack is amazing. If the characters weren’t so good, it would probably fall flat on its face but so much care is put into every single aspect of the film. Clearly I think Otis is the best, but they’re all so good. The only fault of the film is the whole Dr Satan thing at the end which just seems random and silly, but everything else is so amazing I don’t care. It’s relentless and doesn’t really care what you think. The villains are crafted to be as sick and over-the-top as possible, but still feel real, and manage to be disturbing and likable at the same time.

The special features on the DVD were awesome as well: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ko7uZqz7TfM Cracks me up every time.

And the best scene:
null

Leave a Reply

