194. Children of the Corn III: Urban Harvest (1995)

Date First Watched: 10/07/2003
Date Last Watched: 22/02/2011
# Viewings: 7+

I randomly rented the first three Children of the Corn’s when I was 12 and watched them all the same day. I fell madly in love with this one, mostly because I fell madly in love with Eli. I used to watch it pretty much every day, or at least my favourite scenes, and I STILL remember most of the dialogue now. I always hated the last 10 minutes after Eli… transforms. Regardless, it was my favourite movie for quite a while.

The film is quite important to me for a few reasons. Firstly because it was the first time I got like super obsessed with a dude. It was pretty intense. Secondly because that obsession led to me writing down my dreams, which I still do to this day.

Obviously since I’m not 12 anymore and not a pedophile, I’m not interested in Eli anymore. I still think it’s a solid film. I mean, it’s bad, but it’s good. Daniel Cerny is a pretty great actor and does a good job at getting into the character. A difficult role for a kid to do, especially getting that mix of creepiness and confidence. He’s quite good in Demonic Toys too. Everyone else is pretty terrible. I did find it amusing when I realised that the priest dude also played the priest in Not Another Teen Movie, another movie that was my favourite movie for a while as a kid.

The dialogue and plot are terrible as well. And the effects, jesus. That Barbie doll rubbish at the end is cringeworthy, hence my avoiding it during rewatches. Why the hell is it even good? I have no idea. I think it’s purely due to Cerny. Even without me madly crushing on him. He’s just great to watch. I don’t really understand the point of any of it, but it really doesn’t matter to me. When I rewatched it a few years ago, I was concerned I had been blinded by my love – coz look I admit I’m easily blinded by a hot dude and will generally like a film more because of it – but I accepted its flaws then and they don’t bother me now.

Leave a Reply

