91. The Postman (1997)

Date First Watched: Long time ago
Date Last Watched: 3/11/2007
# Viewings: 3+

I don’t remember when I first saw this, maybe in 2003-ish? It was something my dad randomly rented and I loved it. I later discovered it was considered a ‘bad’ movie, and I didn’t understand why. I can kinda see why now, but it’s not really any worse than other similar popular films.

I love dystopic and post-apocalyptic worlds and that was mostly what I loved about it and I still like the world it creates, but it has issues. Costner’s character is a pretty generic Mary Sue and for a 3 hour film it kind of feels rushed in terms of character and plot development at times. Eg, when they send Costner to get the guy from the lion – where there would be opportunities to escape – even though they know he was planning to escape and then send the guy he planned to escape with after him. Wut. Because of this rushed-ness and terribly convenient plot progressions, it also lacks tension.

It’s also super melodramatic, which as I’ve mentioned before I am significantly more bothered by these days than I used to be. The score is really overbearing and there are no real quiet moments, it’s always telling you how to feel. Which was annoying. And man was it cheesy. The whole Irene March scene, jesus. And weird stuff like ‘President Richard Starkey’. It’s been 15 years, I’m sure The Beatles haven’t been forgotten.

Despite this, I still liked it. I don’t know why it was so universally panned considering there’s so much worse and people tend to like this kind of sentimental bull. I don’t like it quite as much as I did when I was younger (possibly obviously), but it’s still moderately entertaining. If it was a bit shorter, less sentimental and less pretentious it would be a lot more than that.

Leave a Reply

