27. Das Boot (1981)

Date First Watched: 21/11/2009
Date Last Watched: 21/11/2009
# Viewings: 2

I remember dreading this film initially because it was a ‘3 hour war movie about people in a submarine’, but I was blown away.

I don’t think I was quite in the mood for something so heavy, so it felt like it dragged a bit this time but I’m pretty sure that’s mostly just me not being in the mood for it. I still thought it was an excellent film; beautifully shot, intense, great acting… the music is a little Hollywood for my liking, but everything else is great. Those moments of silence are my favourite; when you just hear the sonar pinging.

The ending is also one of my favourite endings ever.

Leave a Reply

