116. The Terminator (1984)

Date First Watched: Long time ago
Date Last Watched: 29/12/2006
# Viewings: 4+

T2 has always been my favourite – and is actually ranked a lot higher, but I figured I should watch them in order – but this one is still amazing too. I was surprised to find it so low in my list because it has aged damn well. An amazing science fiction film and an amazing action/thriller film. Everything about it is perfect – the atmosphere and look of the film is so 80s, yet timeless and really damn cool, the pacing is great, the story is cool, Schwarzenegger is awesome, the characters are moderately likable, the effects are amazing. I’ve always thought that Linda Hamilton was the weak spot in the film because she’s not a very good actor and doesn’t have much screen presence but she is tolerable. Also I find it kind of amusing how Reese is like ‘they blend in, we can barely spot them’. I’d hardly call Arnie ‘blending in’.

I also find the Reese-Connor thing interesting because although on the surface it seems like a ‘man’s’ film, the lead character is a sort of average/unattractive, unsexualized woman and her love interest is the attractive, ‘nice’ hero man – usually only reserved for ‘chick flicks’.

null

Leave a Reply

