488. Below (2002)

Date First Watched: Long time ago
Date Last Watched: 2/05/2012
# Viewings: 4+

I remember seeing this not long after it came out, so I was probably around 12. I always liked it a lot and found it pretty tense and atmospheric. The only scene I could ever remember from it was the mirror scene. When I rewatched it in 2012, I didn’t think it was as great as I remembered.

It’s a solid horror film, though not perfect. The script and characters are pretty generic, but it does a good job at building atmosphere and tension. It plays off the claustrophobia and cabin fever a little bit, but doesn’t really do a hell of a lot with it. I’m surprised this is still fairly under-seen because it’s a lot better than most of these haunted ship movies. The mirror scene still creeps me out as well.

Leave a Reply

