6. Monty Python and the Holy Grail (1975)

Date First Watched: 10/02/2005
Date Last Watched: 5/10/2009
# Viewings: 5+

I was at the video store one day and had grabbed 5 movies to rent, but you could get a saving if you rented 7, so mum encouraged me to grab a couple more. Remembering that the cheese shop bit in the episode ‘Time’ of The Young Ones was a reference to Monty Python, I grabbed Holy Grail and And Now For Something Completely Different (the only Monty Python DVDs the store had). I loved it instantly. I decided to start watching it on Monty Python’s anniversary every year, but as you can see from my last watched date, I began doing the Horror Challenge every October starting from 2010 and have never gotten around to watching them since.

Even the opening credits are fecking hilarious. Though it uses a sketch format – which I normally dislike in films – it still works flawlessly, and somewhat surprisingly, manages to create well-established characters (acting is also fantastic from everyone. The Python’s have always said Chapman was their ‘best’ actor, but they are all solid actors). My favourite ‘sketches’ have always been the French taunting, Sir Lancelot and Knights Who Say Ni, but they are all hilarious. Probably one of the most quotable films ever made and I was surprised at how many scenes I could quote-along with word-for-word despite it being over 5 years since I last saw it. The big jokes always land, and the smaller, background jokes are crack-ups too.

Leave a Reply

