52. Serenity (2005)

Date First Watched: 13/02/2006
Date Last Watched: 10/05/2010
# Viewings: 5

Normally I rewatch the series and then rewatch this, but I haven’t had time to watch the series so I just jumped straight to the film. Actually the first time I saw it I had never seen the show and knew nothing about it. I still liked it, but I liked it more after watching the show. I will admit that it’s my second favourite TV show of all time so I am pretty biased when it comes to the film.

I still liked it a lot. I like all the characters in Firefly and I think the writing is always great and the actors are always on point. The film is no different. It feels less bum-licky than a lot of movies-made-from-TV-shows as well, so it can stand on its own (as evident by the fact I still liked it having never heard of Firefly), and as as a continuation of the series without ever feeling like a love letter.

It’s fun, well-paced and the scene where River fights the Reavers is beautiful. It never feels rushed, and it never drags. I always feel like Miranda seems like something out of Resident Evil and I partly wish for a horror film about the events that happened there, which sometimes distracts me.

Leave a Reply

