53. Cloverfield (2008)

Date First Watched: 17/01/2008
Date Last Watched: 1/01/2012
# Viewings: 4

I saw a trailer on TV where the Statue of Liberty head is thrown into the street and I thought it looked lame as hell. My dad and brother decided to see it one day (8 years ago yesterday) and I said no, but then reluctantly joined. From the first second I was on the edge of my seat. I loved every second of it and have seen it a few times over the years and have never lost that lovin’ feeling.

You know when something is so good that you get chills? That’s what this film is like for me. Even on this 4th watch, and even before the action begins, I just get chills. Every second of this movie is perfect. I never liked Marlena and have had an issue with the actress in everything I’ve seen her in since, but she’s actually a pretty great character. And Michael Stahl-David is one of the hottest guys I’ve ever seen. I love all the characters, I love the script, I love the camera work, I love the plot, I love the monster, I love everything. It’s a goddamn masterpiece.

Leave a Reply

