46. Die unendliche Geschichte (1984)

Date First Watched: Long time ago
Date Last Watched: 22/01/2012
# Viewings: 4+

This was one of my favourite films as a kid, although I also think it’s the most depressing film ever made because that damn horse drowning in the quicksand makes me cry every single goddamn time I watch it (and I’ve watched it way more than 4 times, btw, that number is just how many times I’ve recorded watching it and the + means there were an unknown multiple other watches).

ANYWAY….. It’s a great film, especially for kids. I generally dislike fantasy, but it manages to create a world that you can get sucked into and the adventure story helps make this possible. The child actors are surprisingly good considering they’re child actors.

The NeverEnding Story has a lot of nostalgia value for me and I still think it’s a fun adventure and I still cry when Artax drowns (that’s twice today, why did I choose to watch the two most depressing films in the same day [the other was Capturing the Friedmans]), but it’s lost some of that magic which I think is just from me getting older.

Leave a Reply

